Title Card for Current Series

The brainchild of Gene Roddenberry, Star Trek began in 1964 with the original pilot, “The Cage,” which was submitted for approval at NBC by the next year. This pilot featured Jeffery Hunter as Christopher Pike as Captain of the Enterprise (Spock was already present as one of the bridge crew). It was rejected for being too cerebral and slow, amoung other complaints. Soon after, a second pilot was produced, “Where No Man Has Gone Before.” It featured a more diverse cast including James T. Kirk (William Shatner) as captain, a promoted Spock (Leonard Nimoy), Sulu (George Takei), and Scott (James Doohan), and a more action oriented plot that was still cerebral in its own way. It was accepted, and with some tweaks like incorporating Dr. McCoy (DeForest Kelly) and Lt Uhura (Nichelle Nichols), the series began its TV run in 1966. The original pilot was later integrated into the show, ostensively establishing the narrative underpinnings: from cerebral to action.

Now, the franchise has gone through numerous shows, films, and a variety of licensed spin-off materials. While the Marvel Cinematic Universe is the most recognized today for “It’s All Connected,” from the 1990s to early 2000s the Trek franchise, too, had multiple overlapping films and shows, albeit to a less overarching extent. The current series, Discovery, is both prequel and sequel, while the recent film series is set in a connected yet alternate reality, “Kelvin Timeline.” It may also be All Connected again with at least three further upcoming series. The overarching narrative is not truly linear, and the best way to describe it all is to follow production history. Italicized font represents series, and bold represents films. Below the true listing is the series in chronological order (time travel plots make multiple entries for the same film).

1990 – 2009

The Undiscovered Country (1991)
Deep Space 9 (1993-1999)
Generations (1994)
Voyager (1995-2001)
First Contact (1996)
Insurrection (1998)

Enterprise (2001-2005)
Nemesis (2002)
Star Trek (2009)

2010 – present

Into Darkness (2013)
Beyond (2016)

Discovery (2017 – present)

Picard (TBD 2019)
Section 31 Series (TBD)
Lower Decks (TBD)

Nickelodeon Animated Series (TBD)
Untitled S.J. Clarkson Film (TBD)
Untitled Quentin Tarantino Film (TBD)

The Voyage Home

First Contact


Star Trek (Kelvin Timeline)

Star Trek (Original Pilot — The Cage)
Star Trek (Kelvin Timeline)
Into Darkness (Kelvin Timeline)

Into Darkness (Kelvin Timeline)
Beyond (Kelvin Timeline)
Star Trek (classic series)

The Animated Series (first season)

The Animated Series (second season)
The Motion Picture

The Wrath of Khan
The Search for Spock
The Voyage Home
The Final Frontier

The Undiscovered Country

The Next Generation
Deep Space 9 (first season)

The Next Generation (last season)
Deep Space 9
First Contact

Star Trek

Official Website

Memory Alpha, the Star Trek Wiki